Today we had a potluck dinner after church. We attend Holly Springs Moravian Church (Whats Moravian? http://www.moravian.org/) in Holly Springs, NC.  I cooked up two wonderful pork butts, but this time I added a little something extra to the finishing sauce – a tablespoon of honey.  Everyone always comments “Not bad for a Yankee Boy!” – I’ll take that as a compliment!  The honey really seemed to add an interesting color to the mixture of flavors.  Rachel made an awesome yellow cake with cooked buttercream frosting (watch for my Mom’s recipe to be posted here soon) and coconut – a great spring-time tradition in our family!  When I was young, my Mom would make this cake for Easter, adding green food colouring to the coconut and nestling brightly coloured jelly-beans in the “grass”. 

Tell us about Your Spring food traditions! Click on Comments below to post your thoughts.

Chow Down!

