I found a new magazine at the newsstand yesterday. Its called  Cooks Country and it’s a sister publication to another fine magazine Cooks Illustrated. Check them both out at your local newsstand.

One of the articles in Cooks Country was how to get your oven-fried potato wedges crispy on the outside and creamy on the inside.  Now, you know me . . . I am never one to leave well enough alone, nor to follow directions like I’m told, so I started experimenting and came up with a variation that was awesome! I named them Traverse Bay Crispy-Creamy Oven Fried Potatoes because they remind me so much of a wonderful potato dish I had in beautiful Traverse City, MI.

Traverse Bay Crispy-Creamy Oven Fried Potatoes
2 lbs Yukon Gold Potatoes, cubed in 1/2″ chunks
1 Tbls Corn Starch
1/2 Tbls Old Bay Seasoning
1/2 Tbls Coarse Ground Pepper
1/2 Tbls Coarse Sea Salt
3 Tbls Oil
1/2 Tsp Cayenne Pepper
2 Tbls Butter
2 Tbls Grated Parmesan Cheese
 

1. Preheat oven and dry cookie sheet to 450 degrees
2. Toss Potatoes, Cornstarch, Old Bay, Salt, Pepper and Cayenne in a large Ziplok bag to coat evenly
3. Remove cookie sheet from oven and add 3 Tbls Oil to thoroughly coat
4. Arrange Potato cubes evenly spaced and cook for 25-30 minutes
5. Remove from oven and flip Potatoes over and cook for another 12-15 minutes until crispy brown
6. Remove Potatoes from oven as soon as they are golden brown
7. Melt 2 Tbls Butter and drizzle over Potato cubes
8. Sprinkle with Parmesan cheese and enjoy!

Have a different variation?
Click on COMMENTS below and share it with us!    

